Holidays and Closures

On this page:


Overview

The U.S. Embassy observes both U.S. and Swiss holidays and will be closed on those dates. The visa application services call center also observes U.S. and Swiss holidays and will also be closed on those dates.

U.S. Embassy Dates of Closure

In 2022, the U.S. Embassy will be closed on the dates shown below.

Dates of Closure
Date Day Holiday Country
December 24, 2021 Friday Christmas Day Swiss,U.S.
December 31, 2021 Friday New Year's Day U.S.
January 17, 2022 Monday Martin Luther King Day U.S.
February 21, 2022 Monday President's Day U.S.
April 15, 2022 Friday Good Friday Swiss
April 18, 2022 Monday Easter Monday Swiss
May 26, 2022 Thursday Ascension Day Swiss
May 30, 2022 Monday Memorial Day U.S.
June 6, 2022 Monday Whit Monday Swiss
June 20, 2022 Monday Juneteenth U.S.
July 4, 2022 Monday Independence Day (observed) U.S.
August 1, 2022 Monday Swiss National Day Swiss
September 5, 2022 Monday Labor Day U.S.
October 10, 2022 Monday Columbus Day U.S.
November 1, 2022 Tuesday All Saint's Day Swiss
November 11, 2022 Friday Veterans Day U.S.
November 24, 2022 Thursday Thanksgiving Day U.S.
November 28, 2022 Monday Zwiebelmärit Swiss
December 26, 2022 Monday Christmas Day (observed) and St. Stephan’s Day Swiss,U.S.
December 31, 2022 Friday New Year's Day U.S.