Holidays and Closures

On this page:


Overview

The U.S. Embassy and the Visa Application Center observe both U.S. and Dominican Republic holidays and will be closed on those dates. The visa application services call center also observes U.S. and Dominican Republic holidays and will also be closed on those dates.

U.S. Embassy and VAC Dates of Closure

The U.S. Embassy and VAC will be closed on the dates shown below.

Dates of Closure – All the dates of 2022
Date Day Holiday Country
January 1 Saturday New Years Day D.R. / U.S.
January 10 Monday In Observation of Epiphany Day (Enero 6). D.R. 
January 17 Monday Martin Luther King Jr. Birthday. U.S.
January 21 Friday Día De Ntra. Sra. De La Altagracia D.R.
January 24 Monday In Observance of Día de Duarte (Enero 26) D.R.
February 21 Monday President's Day U.S.
February 27 Sunday Dominican Independence Day D.R.
April 15 Friday Good Friday D.R.
April 17 Sunday Resurrection Sunday D.R.
May 2 Monday Dominican Labor Day (Mayo 1) D.R.
May 30 Monday Memorial Day U.S.
June 16 Thursday Corpus Cristi D.R.
June 20 Monday In Observance of Juneteenth (Junio 19) U.S.
July 4 Monday Independence Day U.S.
August 16 Tuesday Dominican Restoration D.R.
September 5 Monday U.S. Labor Day U.S.
September 24 Saturday Día De Ntra. Sra. De Las Mercedes D.R.
October 10 Monday Columbus Day U.S.
November 6 Sunday Dominican Constitution Day D.R.
November 11 Friday Veteran's Day U.S.
November 24 Thursday Thanksgiving U.S.
December 25 Sunday Christmas Day D.R.
December 26 Monday In Observance of Christmas Day (December 25) U.S.