Holidays and Closures

On this page:


Overview

The U.S. Embassy observes both U.S. and Guatemalan holidays and will be closed on those dates. The US Visa Service Desk is closed Sundays, December 25, and January 1.

Embassy Dates of Closure

During the year 2018, the Embassy will be closed on the dates shown below.

Dates of Closure – All Dates 2018
Date Day Holiday Country
January 1 Monday New Year’s Day U.S./Guatemala
January 15 Monday Martin Luther King’s Birthday U.S.
February 19 Monday President’s Day U.S.
March 29  Thursday Holy Thursday Guatemala
March 30  Friday Good Friday Guatemala
May 1 Tuesday Labor Day Guatemala
May 28 Monday Memorial Day U.S.
June 30 Saturday Army Day  Guatemala
July 4 Wednesday U.S. Independence Day U.S.
August 15 Wednesday Feast of the Assumption Guatemala
September 3 Monday U.S. Labor Day U.S.
September 15 Saturday Guatemalan Independence Day Guatemala
October 8 Monday Columbus Day U.S.
October 20 Saturday Revolution Day Guatemala
November 1 Thursday All Saints Day Guatemala
November 12 Monday Veterans Day U.S.
November 22 Thursday Thanksgiving Day U.S.
December 24 Monday Christmas Eve – Half Day Guatemala
December 25 Tuesday Christmas Day U.S./Guatemala
December 31 Monday New Year’s Eve – Half Day Guatemala