Holidays and Closures

On this page:


The U.S. Embassy or Consulate observes both U.S. and Japanese holidays and will be closed on those dates. The call center observes U.S. and Japanese holidays and will also be closed on those dates.

Embassy and Consulate Dates of Closure

    During the year 2018, the Embassy or Consulate will be closed on the dates shown below.

Dates of Closure - All Dates 2018
Date Day Holiday Country
January 1 Monday  New Year’s Holidays U.S. and Japan
January 8 Monday Adult's Day Japan
January 15,  Monday Martin Luther King, Jr's Birthday U.S.
February 11 Sunday (Observed on Feb. 12) National Foundation Day Japan
February 19 Monday Washington's Birthday U.S.
March 21 Wednesday Vernal Equinox Day Japan
April 30, May 3-4 Monday, Thursday - Friday Golden Week Holidays Japan
May 28 Monday Memorial Day U.S.
July 4 Wednesday Independence Day U.S.
July 16 Monday Marine Day Japan
September 3 Monday Labor Day U.S.
September 17 Monday Respect for the Aged Day Japan
October 8 Monday Columbus Day/Sports Day U.S. and Japan
November 12 Monday Veterans Day U.S.
November 22 Thursday Thanksgiving Day U.S.
November 23 Friday Labor Thanksgiving Day U.S.
December 23 Sunday (Observed on Dec. 24) Emperor's Birthday Japan
December 25 Tuesday Christmas Day U.S.