Holidays and Closures

Overview

The U.S. Embassy in Kuala Lumpur observes both U.S. and Malaysian holidays and will be closed on those dates. The visa application services call center also observes U.S. and Malaysian holidays and will also be closed on those dates.

Embassy Dates of Closure

Dates of Closure - All Dates 2017
Date Day Holiday Country
December 25 Monday Christmas Day U.S. & Malaysian
Dates of Closure - All Dates 2018
Date Day Holiday Country
January 1 Monday New Year's Day U.S.
January 15 Monday Birthday of Martin Luther King, Jr. U.S.
January 31 Wednesday Thaipusam Malaysian
February 1 Thursday Federal Territory Day Malaysian
February 16 & 17 Friday & Saturday Chinese New Year (2 days) Malaysian
February 19 Monday Washington’s Birthday U.S.
May 1 Tuesday Workers Day Malaysian
May 28 Monday Memorial Day U.S.
May 29 Tuesday Wesak Day Malaysian
June 15 &16 Friday & Saturday Hari Raya Puasa* (2 days) Malaysian
July 4 Wednesday Independence Day U.S.
August 22 Wednesday Hari Raya Qurban* Malaysian
August 31 Friday National Day Malaysian
September 3 Monday Labor Day U.S.
September 10 Monday King's Birthday Malaysian
September 17 Monday Malaysia Day Malaysian
October 8 Monday Columbus Day U.S.
November 6 Tuesday Deepavali* Malaysian
November 12 Monday Veterans Day U.S.
November 22 Thursday Thanksgiving Day U.S.
December 25 Tuesday Christmas Day U.S.

* Subject to change

** Holidays that fall on an “Off Day” (i.e. Saturday) are observed on that day; in contrast, holidays that fall on a Rest Day (i.e. Sunday) will be observed the following Monday. From Employment Act 1955, Part XXII, article 59: “Every employee shall be allowed in each week a rest day of one whole day as may be determined from time to time by the employer, and where an employee is allowed more than one rest day in a week the last of such rest days shall be the rest day for the purposes of this Part” (i.e. Rest Days, Hours of Work, Holidays, and other conditions of service).