Holidays and Closures

On this page:


Overview

The U.S. Embassy observes both U.S. and Nicaraguan holidays and will be closed on those dates. The US Visa Service Desk is closed Sundays, December 25, and January 1.

Embassy Dates of Closure

During the year 2018, the Embassy will be closed on the dates shown below.

Dates of Closure - All Dates 2018
Date Day Holiday Country or Embassy
September 03 Monday  Labor Day U.S.
September 14 Friday Battle of San Jacinto  Nicaragua
October 08 Monday  Columbus  Day U.S.
November 12 Monday Veteran’s Day U.S.
November 22 Thursday Thanksgiving Day U.S.
December 25 Tuesday Christmas Day U.S. & Nicaragua

 During the year 2019, the Embassy will be closed on the dates shown below:

Dates of Closure - All Dates 2019
Date Day Holiday Country or Embassy
January 01 Tuesday New Year's Day U.S. & Nicaragua
January 21 Monday Martin Luther King's Birthday U.S.
February 18 Monday Washington’s Birthday U.S.
April 18 Thursday Holy Thursday Nicaragua
April 19 Friday Good Friday  Nicaragua
May 01 Wednesday Nicaraguan Labor Day Nicaragua
May 27 Monday Memorial Day U.S.
July 04 Thursday US Independence Day U.S.
July 19 Friday Revolution Anniversary  Nicaragua
August 01 Thursday Festival of Santo Domingo  Nicaragua
August 10 Saturday Festival of  Santo Domingo  Nicaragua
September 02 Monday  Labor Day U.S.
September 16 Monday Nicaragua Independence Day (Observed - N) Nicaragua
October 14 Monday  Columbus  Day U.S.
November 11 Monday Veteran’s Day U.S.
November 28 Thursday Thanksgiving Day U.S.
December 9 Tuesday Immaculate Conception (Observed -N) Nicaragua
December 25 Wednesday Christmas Day U.S. & Nicaragua