Holidays and Closures

On this page:

Overview

The U.S. Embassy/Consulate observes both U.S. and Russian holidays and will be closed on those dates. The visa application services call center also observes U.S. and Russian holidays and will also be closed on those dates.

U.S. Embassy/Consulate Dates of Closure

Dates of Closure - Remaining Dates 2021
Date Day Holiday Country
November 25 Thursday Thanksgiving Day U.S.
December 24 Friday Christmas Day U.S.
December 31* Friday Bridge holiday (transferred from Sunday, January 3) U.S./Russia
Dates of Closure - All Dates 2022
Date Day Holiday Country
January 3 - 6 Mon - Thur New Year Holidays Russia
January 7 Friday Orthodox Christmas Day Russia
January 17 Monday Martin Luther King, Jr. Day U.S.
February 21 Monday President's Day U.S.
February 23 Wednesday Defender’s Day Russia
March 7* Monday (transferred from Saturday, March 5) Women's Day Russia
March 8 Tuesday Women's Day Russia
May 2 Monday May Day Russia
May 3* Tuesday (transferred from Saturday, January 1) May Day Russia
May 9 Monday Victory Day Russia
May 10* Tuesday (transferred from Sunday, January 2) Victory Day Russia
May 30 Monday Memorial Day U.S.
June 13 Monday Independence Day (observed) Russia
June 20 Monday Juneteenth Day (observed) U.S.
July 4 Monday Independence Day U.S.
September 5 Monday Labor Day U.S.
October 10 Monday Columbus Day U.S.
November 4 Friday Day of Consent and Reconciliation Russia
November 11 Friday Veteran's Day U.S.
November 24 Thursday Thanksgiving Day U.S.
December 26 Monday Christmas Day (observed) U.S.