Holidays and Closures

On this page:


Overview

The U.S. Embassy observes both U.S. and Ukrainian holidays and will be closed on those dates. The call center is closed on weekends, and on Ukrainian and U.S. holidays, as observed by the U.S. Embassy.

Embassy Dates of Closure

The following American and Ukrainian holidays will be observed in 2022 by the Embassy.

Holiday Day Date Country
New Year's Day (observed) Monday January 3 U.S./Ukraine
Orthodox Christmas Friday January 7 Ukraine
Martin Luther King Jr. Day Monday January 17 U.S.
Presidents' Day Monday February 21 U.S.
International Women's Day Tuesday March 8 Ukraine
Orthodox Easter (observed) Monday *April 25 Ukraine
International Labor Day(observed) Monday *May 2 Ukraine
Victory Day Monday *May 9 Ukraine
Memorial Day Monday May 30 U.S.
Holy Trinity Day(observed) Monday *June 13 Ukraine
Juneteenth (observed) Monday June 20 USA
Constitution Day Tuesday June 28 Ukraine
Independence Day Monday *July 4 U.S.
Independence Day Wednesday August 24 Ukraine
Labor Day Monday September 5 U.S.
Columbus Day Monday October 10 U.S.
Ukrainian Defenders Day Friday October 14 Ukraine
Veterans Day Friday November 11 U.S.
Thanksgiving Day Thursday November 24 U.S.
Christmas Day(observed) Monday *December 26 Ukraine/U.S.

*”Observed” means that if a holiday falls on Saturday/ Sunday, it is observed on Monday (by Ukrainian law) and on Friday or Monday (by U.S. law).

The Cabinet of Ministers of Ukraine may make additional changes to the holiday schedule during the year. Should this occur, we will update and republish this notice.